How to Become a Licensed Real Estate Salesperson (future Donald Trump)
Note: To be eligible to apply for a real estate Salesperson License, an individual must be a citizen of the United States or a lawfully admitted alien, eighteen (18) years of age or older and a legal resident of Texas.
Very Important! Fingerprint Requirements for Brokers and Salespersons applying or renewing on or after January 1, 2008. Click Here to learn about the fingerprint requirements.
Before applying for a real estate Salesperson License, an individual must first furnish the Commission satisfactory evidence of successfully completing the following education.
Note: depending on the school, the tuition for a real estate license costs between $500-$900, and along with the rest of the costs associated with licensure (application fees, etc) you can expect to pay between anywhere between $750 and $1000 to get fully licensed.
- Principles of Real Estate core real estate course [60 classroom hours]
- Law of Agency core real estate course (30 classroom hours)
- Law of Contracts core real estate course (30 classroom hours)
- An additional core real estate course (30 classroom hours)
- Another four semester (60 classroom) hours in core courses or in related courses acceptable to the Commission (ie. college hours).
- Effective 09/1/2010 a pre-application education evaluation is no longer available prior to submitting an application. Real estate applicants are no longer required to submit an education evaluation request and receive a notice from the commission that the education requirements have been satisfied prior to submitting an application for a license. The education evaluation request form is eliminated and education course completion documents must be submitted when the application is filed.
(Note: We have a preferred online real estate school that guarantees the lowest tuition prices for the required real estate courses.
Filing Your Application
After you have completed your education, you will need to file and pay for the Application for Inactive Salesperson License online. Please click here to apply and pay for your Inactive Salesperson License online.Evidence of successful completion of your education via credit transcript or certificate should be submitted with your application. DO NOT submit original transcripts or course completion documents. Keep the originals for your personal files and send photocopies to the Commission.
The following required fees must be submitted at the time of filing an application. If submitting your application by mail or in person, please note that an application received without the appropriate fees will be rejected and your check will be returned to you. The following fees should be submitted in ONE CHECK OR MONEY ORDER payable to the Texas Real Estate Commission.
ALL FEES LISTED BELOW ARE NONREFUNDABLE.
Fees Required with Real Estate Salesperson License Application Fee Amount Comment Original Application $143.00 Required for all applicants Recovery Trust Account (formerly Recovery Fund) $10.00 Required for all applicants unless previously paid
Pursuant to §1101.3521 of the Real Estate License Act, any person applying for or renewing a salesperson license must provide their fingerprints. Once the applicant has obtained a TREC entity number the FastPass form may be downloaded from the TREC website by clicking here. An appointment must be made through L1 Enrollment Services or through PSI. A license will not issue if the background check has not been cleared.
License examinations are administered by PSI, a testing service company. Once your application has been received, processed and accepted, you will receive notification that you may obtain a copy of the Candidate Information Brochure (CIB) to register for the exam. The CIB will provide instructions on how to make reservations to take the examination and contains study material and instructions about licensing. A copy of the CIB can be downloaded by clicking here - PSI web site. Please DO NOT attempt to register for the exam without first receiving notification from the TREC office. The examination must be passed within one year from the date the application is filed with the commission office.
Investigation May be Needed
The filing of an application authorizes an investigation of the applicant's background. Information revealed in an investigation may be cause for disapproval of an application even though other requirements for a license are met. If an investigation is necessary, it may not be conducted until the applicant has passed the examination.
Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Repayment History Checked
State law prohibits the renewal of a license if a licensee has defaulted on a student loan guaranteed by TGTM unless the licensee has entered into a repayment agreement with TG. YOU SHOULD CONTACT TG BEFORE FILING THIS APPLICATION if you have defaulted on a student loan. An application or renewal may be rejected if this agency has received information from TGSLC that the applicant has defaulted on a student loan. The Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation can be reached at:
P.O. Box 83100
Round Rock, Texas 78683-3100
Telephone: (800) 252-9743
(in Austin, call 219-5700)
Before you can practice as a licensed salesperson you must arrange for a Texas real estate broker holding an active license to sponsor you as a salesperson (in this case, our brokerage). If you've read this far, you've probably already been hired on the contingency of obtaining your real estate licensee.
While you are not required to have a sponsoring broker to file an application for a license, a Salesperson Sponsorship Form is included with the application materials. If you wish, you may file the sponsorship request along with the application. Once all licensing requirements have been satisfied, TREC will send an active salesperson license to the broker, and you may act for the broker on receipt of the license.
You may also file the application and arrange for sponsorship after TREC notifies you that you have been issued an inactive license. Once a broker holding an active license has mailed a request to TREC to act as your sponsor, you may begin to act for the broker as a salesperson.
Are you up for the challenge?
Honestly, the process is much easier than it appears. Seven simple steps, a little studying and boom, you're legally licensed to practice real estate in the State of Texas. The return on investment is usually 100%+ within the first 30 days. But, let's be real. Getting your license is easy, but being a successful agent in not. Are you up for the challenge?